Understanding the Stages of Grief

By: Franklin Rainear Jr.
Friday, May 18, 2018

Everyone experiences grief differently and take their time processing it. Some recover within months while others take years. There’s no right or wrong way to experience this, no set patterns or processes to go through for recovery. People have their coping methods so it’s important to give them space. While different individuals have different experiences, most go through common stages of grief. These stages were first established by Elisabeth Kubler-Ross 30 years ago and they are:

1. Denial

When a loved one passes away, those left behind experience disbelief. It takes some time for reality to set in and denial to pass. People will first reject death, especially if it happens without warning.

2. Anger

Anger is an instinctive and healthy response to grief as it is an outlet for all pain locked inside. Bereaved individuals often experience bouts of frustration, rage, and helplessness, which shouldn’t be suppressed. 

3. Bargaining

At this stage, people attempt to determine how they could’ve avoided death. Questions like “did he receive the right treatment” or “should I have taken her to the doctor sooner” or “if they didn’t leave the house”, etc., will plague the mind.

4. Depression

This is where reality and acceptance start to come in. People experience intense pain along with a crushing sense of helplessness. This can last for months, if not years, as people will take their time to recover from it.

5. Acceptance

This is the final step where individuals accept their loss and look towards their future. They have made peace with a loved one’s demise, which allows them to reflect on the decedent with a positive mindset.

If you want some help and assistance for arranging funerals for yourself or departed loved ones, don’t hesitate to get in touch with us at Franklin H. Rainear, Jr., Affordable Funeral Service & Cremation, LLC through our website or call (888) 213-4090.

Leave a comment
Please enter the letters you see in the image.


Please wait

Previous Posts

What is The Philosophy of Hospice Care?

Hospices offer essential care during end of life, helping patients on their final journey so they don’t experience too much discomfort. This essential care can reduce a patient’s stress, help them ...

The Importance of An End of Life Conversation with Your Loved One

Death is intimidating, mysterious, and frightening. Most are hesitant to think about their own demise and what will happen after it. That can lead to a lot of problems later, especially if there ar...

What do Funeral Directors do for a Family?

When a loved one breathes their last breath, one of the very first things you need to do is contact a funeral director. This professional may run their own funeral home or could be part of an organ...

Should I or Shouldn’t I Go to the Funeral?

Many people wonder whether they should attend a funeral or not. Funerals allow family and friends to say their final goodbyes to the deceased person. Everyone associated with the decedent has some ...

The Importance of Writing a Eulogy

A eulogy is an expression of gratefulness and grief and a final goodbye in honor of a deceased person’s memory. It isn’t very easy to speak before all the people attending the service, especially s...

5 Funeral Etiquette Tips You Need to Know

Funerals are difficult for everyone. The decedent’s family and friends are in deep mourning and can react negatively or feel pain at any perceived slight. It’s important to keep their feelings in m...

Pre-Planning: The Time Is Now

When people hear about the concept of preplanning a funeral, it sometimes upsets them or makes them uncomfortable. But a larger number of people are now opening up to the idea of preplanning and pr...

How to Deal with the Loss of a Loved One During the Holidays

Our loved ones are a big part of our lives and influence every aspect of it. We form deep and personal connections with each other and experience a considerable amount of pain if that connection ge...